News Read More

LOLC Micro Credit felicitates over 750 top-achieving Grade 5 Scholars

LOLC Micro Credit Ltd. (LOMC), one of the largest and leading microfinance companies in Sri Lanka and subsidiary of the LOLC Group, successfully concluded its 7th annual ‘Isuru Diriya Sisu Upahara Scholarship Awards Ceremony’ at a gala event held at the BMICH Colombo.  The ‘Isuru Diriya Sisu Upahara Scholarship’ is LOMC’s most valued and dedicated CSR project which is held annually to felicitate the children of LOMC customers who achieved top marks at the national Grade 5 scholarship examination conducted by the Department of Education.

Covering all districts in the country, a total of 797 students were awarded scholarships with cash prizes and gifts of stationery, books, sports items and school shoes. During the official ceremony held at the BMICH, 251 students were awarded with scholarships to support their first steps into secondary school while the gifts and scholarships of the balance 546 students were delivered to their homes. Similar to previous years, the selection criteria for the Sisu Upahara Scholarship programme continues to be well structured and transparent extending the scholarships to deserving students based on both merit and financial need.  

Hon. Minister of Education, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam graced the ceremony as the Chief Guest. Professor J. B. Dissanayake who is an eminent writer and consultant on language, grammar and culture, participated as the Guest Speaker. Speaking at the Awards Ceremony, Professor Dissanayake encouraged and motivated the young achievers and shared some valuable insights on how to successfully reach their future educational goals. Also in attendance were, LOLC Group Deputy Chairman, Mr. Ishara Nanayakkara, LOLC Group Managing Director/CEO, Mr. Kapila Jayawardena, Executive Director of LOLC, Mrs. Kalsha Amarasinghe, and Director/Chief Executive Officer LOMC, Mr. Ravi Tissera. Senior management members of LOLC, staff members, parents of students and well-wishers were also present.  

During this year's ceremony, top three achievers, namely, Sudaraka Heshan Deshabandu from Galgamuwa, Selwakumar Shehan Kanishka from Horana and Kuganeswaran Kulavili from Vavuniya along with other high-achievers were recognised and presented with special gifts.

Mr. Ravi Tissera, Director/CEO of LOLC Micro Credit Limited speaking at the award ceremony said, “Since our very first Isuru Diriya programme which was held in the 2010/11 financial year, we have felicitated over 2,500 outstanding scholarship students. By awarding and celebrating their achievements we not only give them the necessary impetus to further their education but create the inspirational platform for them to aspire to achieve greater success in the future.  Therefore, this annual event is a unique and special one.

Inaugurated in 2009, LOLC Micro Credit, with the financial strength of renowned overseas Development Finance Institutes and the support of the LOLC Group, rose among Sri Lankan corporates as one of the leading microfinance solutions providers dedicated towards uplifting the low income segment of the country. The Company has also been the first and only Sri Lankan microfinance institute to be awarded with the certification for Client Protection Principle. With a disbursement portfolio of Rs. 47 Billion and a growing borrower base of nearly 400,000, the Company has gained success and recognition both at home and overseas. 

251 students were awarded at the official ceremony held at the BMICH

Chief Guest Hon. Minister of Education, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam addressing the gathering

LOLC Micro Credit felicitates over 750 top-achieving scholars

LOMC successfully concluded its 7th annual Isuru Diriya Sisu Upahara Scholarship Awards Ceremony in Colombo

Professor J. B. Dissanayake addressing the gathering